The Framework Convention Alliance for Tobacco Control

New board members for 2016

Three new members will join the FCA board in January 2016.

During the 10th FCA General Assembly Elections in August three seats were contested: two of the six regional seats and one of the three at-large positions.

As a result, the FCA’s membership elected a diverse board with different talents, and all having substantial experience as tobacco control advocates. 

The new members are:

Alejandro Ramos 
AMRO regional seat

Amit Yadav
SEARO regional seat.

Maria Carmona
At-large seat.

FCA Laurent Huber thanked the outgoing members.

"While they are not leaving the board until the end of the year, I want to give special recognition to the three board members whose terms end 31 December 2015: Iqbal Masud (SEARO), Johanna “Jo” Birckmayer (AMRO) and Lutgard Kokulinda Kagaruki (at-large)," he said.

As of 1 January 2016 the FCA’s board will be made up of: 

  • Regional Office for Africa (AFRO): Issah Ali
  • Regional Office for the Americas (AMRO): Alejandro Ramos
  • Regional Office for the Eastern Mediterranean (EMRO): Fouad Fouad
  • Regional Office for Europe (EURO): Maxime Compaoré
  • Regional Office for South-East Asia (SEARO): Amit Yadav
  • Regional Office for the Western Pacific (WPRO): Ulysses Dorotheo
  • At-large: Maria Carmona
  • At-large: Mônica Andreis
  • At-large: Judith Watt

Board members serve for four years. During the next FCA election in 2016 one at-large seat and the positions for the AFRO and EMRO regions will be contested.





Share This