The Framework Convention Alliance for Tobacco Control

Congratulations new FCA board members!

Congratulations to the three FCA members who will begin terms on the Alliance's Board of Directors in January 2014! They were chosen during the election that ended on 7 Nov.

Fouad Fouad will begin his second term as FCA director for the WHO's Eastern Mediterranean (EMRO) region; Issah Ali will sit as director for the Africa (AFRO) region, and Mônica Andreis will hold an At-Large position.

All of them will hold three-year terms on the board.

Candidates for election were nominated by their affiliated organization. During the election, members of the FCA were granted the opportunity, via a secure online voting site, to select one representative for the AFRO and EMRO regions and AT-LARGE seats.

In accordance with election rules, only organizations that are members of the FCA were eligible. Individual members of the Alliance were not eligible to vote in the general assembly.

About 32 percent of eligible voting member organizations took part in the vote.

FCA Director Laurent Huber thanked outgoing Board members Luk Joosens and Ebeh Kodjo Fabrice for their contributions to the Alliance's work.

From January 2014, the composition of the Board of Directors will be as follows:

  • AFRO: Issah Ali
  • EMRO: Fouad Fouad
  • AMRO: Johanna Birckmayer
  • EURO:  Elif Dagli
  • SEARO: Iqbal Masud
  • WPRO: Ulysses Dorotheo
  • AT-LARGE: Mônica Andreis  
  • AT-LARGE: Lutgard Kokulinda Kagaruki
  • AT-LARGE: Melodie Tilson

Read more:

About the Board of Directors

Share This


#1 Jessica 2013-12-06 18:55
Congrats to all the new board members dedicating their time to support FCA and its initiatives!