The Framework Convention Alliance for Tobacco Control

What is the Framework Convention on Tobacco Control?

The Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (FCTC) is the world’s first modern-day global public health treaty. It is also the first treaty negotiated under the auspices of the World Health Organization (WHO).

The treaty entered into force in February 2005. It was signed by 168 of the 192 WHO member states and more than 180 WHO member states have become parties to the convention.

List of signatories and parties to the WHO FCTC

The FCTC provides an internationally co-ordinated response to combating the tobacco epidemic, and sets out specific steps for governments addressing tobacco use, including to:

•    Adopt tax and price measures to reduce tobacco consumption;
•    Ban tobacco advertising, promotion and sponsorship;
•    Create smoke-free work and public spaces;
•    Put prominent health warnings on tobacco packages;
•    Combat illicit trade in tobacco products.


Share This